DCMetroTheaterArts’ Best of 2015 #15: Best Directors of Musicals in Professional Theatres

The staff of DCMetroTheaterArts is honored to announce that their 2015 Best Directors of Musicals in Professional Theatres honors go to:

BEST OF 2015 200X200 PIXELS

Patrick A’Hearn for The Music of Andrew Lloyd Webber at Riverside Center Dinner Theater.

Melissa Baughman for Sweeney Todd (Prog-Metal Version) at Landless Theatre Company.

Suzanne Beal for The Gifts of the Magi at Maryland Ensemble Theatre.

Walter Bobbie for Bright Star at The Kennedy Center.

Michael J. Bobbitt for Kiss Me Kate at NextStop Theatre Company.

Michael J. Bobbitt for Petite Rouge: A Cajun Red Riding Hood at Adventure Theatre MTC.

Janelle Broderick for Peter Rabbit at Red Branch Theatre.

Mark Brokaw for Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella at The National Theatre.

Marc Bruni for Beautiful-The Carole King Musical at The Kennedy Center.

Jeff Calhoun for NEWSIES at The National Theatre.

Edward Carignan for The Wiz at Shenandoah Summer Music Theatre.

Tracey Elaine Chessum for code name: Cynthia at Pallas Theatre Collective.

Christina A. Coakley and Michael Innocenti for Dogfight at The Keegan Theatre.

Matt Conner for Once on This Island at Creative Cauldron.

Matt Conner and Stephen Gregory Smith for The Turn of the Screw at Creative Cauldron.

Matt Conner for The World Goes ‘Round at Creative Cauldron.

Carolyn Coulson for The Addams Family at Shenandoah Summer Music Theatre.  

Patti D’Beck for Sister Act at Riverside Center for the Performing Arts.

Marcia Milgrom Dodge for The Secret Garden at Centerstage.

Dann Dunn for Mame at Riverside Center for the Performing Arts.

Matthew Gardiner for Cabaret at Signature Theatre.

Matthew Gardiner for West Side Story at Signature Theatre.

Igor Goldin for Baby, The Musical at Infinity Theatre Company.

Michael Greif for Dear Evan Hansen at Arena Stage.

Ryan Michael Haase for Avenue Q at Stillpointe Theatre Initiative. 

Megan Elizabeth Henderson for Avenue Q at Red Branch Theatre Company.

Robin Higginbotham for The Music Man at Shenandoah Summer Music Theatre.

Evan Hoffmann for The Secret Garden at NextStop Theatre Company.

Colin Hovde for A Year With Frog and Toad at Imagination Stage.

Jason King Jones for Godspell at Olney Theatre Center.

Thomas W. Jones II for Bessie’s Blues at MetroStage.

Bill Kiska for Fiddler on the Roof at Way Off Broadway.

Kwame Kwei-Armah for Marley at Centerstage.

Jennifer Lambert for Seussical: The Musical at NextStop Theatre Company.

Jason Loewith for Carousel at Olney Theatre Center.

Jenny Male for Spring Awakening at Red Branch Theatre Company.

Shawn R. Martin for Cabaret at Washington County Playhouse Dinner Theater and Children’s Theater. 

Lucinda Merry-Browne for Brigadoon at Compass Rose Theater.

Mark Minnick for The Addams Family at Toby’s Dinner Theatre. 

Jerry Mitchell for Kinky Boots at The Hippodrome Theatre.

David Muse for Murder Ballad at The Studio Theatre.

 Casey Nicholaw and Trey Parker for The Book of Mormon at Hippodrome Theatre at the France-Merrick Performing Arts Center.

Nick Olcott for Garfield, The Musical With Cattitude at Adventure Theatre MTC.

Toby Orenstein and Mark Minnick for Into the Woods at Toby’s Dinner Theatre.

Toby Orenstein and Lawrence B. Munsey for Ragtime: The Musical at Toby’s Dinner Theatre.

Alan Paul for Kiss Me Kate at Shakespeare Theatre Company.

Alan Paul for Man of La Mancha at Shakespeare Theatre Company.

Alan Paul for Silence! the Musical at Studio’s 2nd Stage.

Joseph Ritsch for Oliver! The Musical at Adventure Theatre MTC.

Danielle Robinette for Bat Boy: The Musical at StillPointe Theatre Initiative.

Eric Ruffin for Black Nativity at Theater Alliance.

Eric Schaeffer for The Fix at Signature Theatre.

Molly Smith for Oliver! at Arena Stage.

Allison Arkell Stockman for Avenue Q at Constellation Theatre Company.

John Tiffany for Once at The Kennedy Center.

Matthew Warchus for Matilda the Musical at The Kennedy Center.

Jerry Whiddon for Guys and Dolls at Olney Theatre Center.

Stephanie Lynn Williams for Dogfight at Red Branch Theatre Company. 

Charles Randolph-Wright for Motown The Musical at The National Theatre. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here