Black Artist Coalition to stream ‘I Am… A Celebration of Black Artistry’

Over 80 Black DMV theater artists join benefit for National Action Network.

The Black Artist Coalition (BAC) releases its second visual project, “I Am…” A Celebration of Black Artistry Thursday, October 8, 2020. One of the pillars of the Black Artist Coalition is advancing the collective power and creative unity of the Black theatrical community. This video is a collection of over 80 of the DMV’s talented Black artists including stage performers, directors, choreographers, and playwrights such as recent Helen Hayes Award winners Billie Krishawn, Dane Edidi Figueroa, Tẹmídayọ Amay, and Gary-Kayi Fletcher, plus Rayshun LaMarr from The Voice. Each artist completes the “I am…” statement in their own way through storytelling, spoken word, dance, and music.

This two-hour event will stream October 8, 2020, at 7:00 pm EST from The Black Artist Coalition’s YouTube channel. This celebration will also serve as a fundraiser for the National Action Network through October 15.

The National Action Network is one of the nation’s leading civil rights organizations with chapters throughout the United States. It was founded in 1981 by Reverend Al Sharpton to promote a modern civil rights agenda that includes the fight for one standard of justice, decency, and equal opportunities for all people regardless of race, religion, ethnicity, citizenship, criminal record, economic status, gender, gender expression, or sexuality.

The BAC’s first visual project, The Black Artist Coalition: An Introduction, was released in August and introduced the BAC to the DC theater community.

I Am… Participants

Derrick Truby, Beuka Uwemedimo, Thony Mena, Marty LaMarr, DeCarlo Raspberry, Christopher Richardson, Vaughn Ryan Midder, Kevin McAllister, Tobias Young, Frank Britton, Psalmayene 24, Rayshun LaMarr, Mark G. Meadows, Gary Fletcher, Neko Ramos, Tendo Nsubuga, James J. Johnson, Quincy Vicks, Dylan J. Fleming, Jefferson Russell, Bru Ajueyitsi, Jason B. McIntosh, Jay Frisby, Jaysen Wright, Michael Kevin Darnall, Jonathan Palmer, Kenyatta Rogers, Solomon Parker, Tyrell Stanley, Kaylen Morgan, Montel Butler, Ricardo Blagrove, Dana Nearing, Bryan Daniels, Davon Fleming, Andre Hinds, Michael Mainwaring, Sylvern Groomes, Davon Moody, DeJeanette Horne, T. L. Sapp, Garnett Williams, Tẹmídayọ Amay, Ashley Buster, Awa Sal Secka, Jocelyn Isaac, Erika Rose, Theresa Cunningham, Ashleigh King, Jessica Bennett, Ashley Johnson, Shayla Lowe, Lady Dane Edidi, Ines Nassara, Nova Payton, Kanysha Williams, Melissa Victor, Lolita Clayton Horne, Felicia Curry, Tomi Nelson, Dawn Ursula, Crystal Freeman, Nicole Ruthmarie, Lauren Jackson, Kelli Blackwell, Renea Brown, Ayesis Clay, Angeleaza Anderson, Billie Krishawn, Bryanda Minix, Selena Clyde-Galindo, Kara-Tameika Watkins, Jalisa Williams, Raquel Jennings, Jade Jones, Rikki Howie, Andrea Gerald, Kayla Gross, Deborah Crabbe, Karen Lawrence, Joy Jones, Ana King, Kaylen Robinson

JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #BlackArtistCoalition
Twitter: /TheBlackArtist3
Facebook: / TheBlackArtistCoalition
Instagram: /TheBlackArtistCoalition
YouTube: / TheBlackArtistCoalition

Artists who have questions about the should email [email protected].

The Black Artist Coalition is an assembly of DMV artists and advocates from the Black community who are committed to regionally improving the status of Black actors, theater art administrators, theater designers, and stage directors by adopting and enacting racial, cultural, and ethnic policies that are equitable; advocating for language and stories of inclusivity; representing the collective mindset of the organization; and by offering support to Black artists to hold accountable and dismantle biased practices within regional and local arts organizations.

SEE ALSO “Black Artist Coalition begins in the DMV”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here