Nominations announced for NYC’s 2022 Chita Rivera Awards for dance

Named for of one of the great dance icons in American musical theater, the mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate and to promote dance and choreographic excellence. As the only awards ceremony dedicated to dance, the annual awards not only recognize the outstanding achievement of each nominee, but also the talent and dedication of every theatrical choreographer and dancer. In addition, through education and scholarships, the Chita Rivera Awards are committed to nurturing an ongoing sense of community by investing in future generations and to honoring the past by preserving notable dance history.

This year, the individual nominating committees for the separate awards categories of Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Film have considered outstanding choreography, featured dancers, and ensembles in shows that opened pre-Covid, as well as in the 2021-2022 season. An awarding committee for Broadway determined the final nominations received from the Broadway nominations committee.

As was previously announced, legendary Broadway performer and Tony, Oscar, and Golden Globe Award winner Joel Grey (Cabaret; Wicked; Anything Goes) will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Excellence in Off-Broadway musical theater will be celebrated with two special awards.

Joel Grey. Photo courtesy of the Chita Rivera Awards.

And the nominees for the 2022 Chita Rivera Awards are:

Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show: Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; Warren Carlyle, The Music Man; Bill T. Jones, Garrett Coleman, Jason Oremus, Paradise Square; Annie-B Parson, American Utopia; Sonya Tayeh, Moulin Rouge; and Christopher Wheeldon, MJ the Musical;

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show: Sidney DuPont, Paradise Square; Myles Frost, MJ the Musical; Jared Grimes, Funny Girl; Hugh Jackman, The Music Man; AJ Shively, Paradise Square; and Tony Yazbeck, Flying Over Sunset;

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show: Sutton Foster, The Music Man; Robyn Hurder, Moulin Rouge; Tendayi Kuumba, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; Heather Lang, Jagged Little Pill; and Adrienne Warren, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical;

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show: American Utopia; for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; MJ the Musical; Moulin RougeParadise Square; and The Music Man;

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show: Josh Prince, Trevor;

Outstanding Ensemble in an Off-Broadway Show: The Wrong Man;

Outstanding Choreography for a Theatrical Release: Cinderella, Choreographer Ashley Wallen, Assistant Choreographer Jenny Griffin; Everyone’s Talking About Jamie, Choreographer Kate Prince, Assistant Choreographer Tommy Franzen; In The Heights, Choreographer Christopher Scott (3 Associate and 3 Assistant Choreographers); tick, tick . . . BOOM!, Choreographer Ryan Heffington, Associate Choreographer Ryan Spencer; and West Side Story, Choreographer Justin Peck, Associate Choreographer Craig Salstein (Original choreography by Jerome Robbins; Original Broadway Production Co-Choreographed by Peter Gennaro);

Outstanding Direction of a Documentary Release: Ballerina Boys – The Trocaderos, Directors Chana Gazit and Martie Barylick; Can You Bring It: Bill T. Jones and D-Man in the Waters, Directors Tom Hurwitz and Rosalynde LeBlanc; Dance Dreams: Hot Chocolate Nutcracker, Director Oliver Bokelberg; First Try, Director Josh Prince; and Maurice Hines: Bring Them Back, Director John Carluccio.

Chita Rivera. Photo courtesy of the Chita Rivera Awards.

The 4th Annual Chita Rivera Awards will take place on Monday, June 20, 7:30 pm, at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts, 566 LaGuardia Place, NYC. The star-studded evening will include Broadway performances, special guest honorees, and celebrated presenters. For tickets (priced at $100-500), go online. All proceeds will benefit the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation College Scholarship Program, which awards college scholarships to talented teenagers. Everyone in attendance must show proof of COVID-19 vaccination to enter the building and must wear a mask at all times when inside.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here