Winners of the 2022 Drama League Awards for Broadway and Off-Broadway

Recipients of the 2022 Drama League Awards, the oldest theatrical honors in America, first presented in 1922, and formalized in 1935, were announced beginning at noon today (Friday, May 20) in a live in-person ceremony at the Ziegfeld Ballroom, 141 West 54th Street, hosted by journalist Frank DiLella. The nominees and winners are chosen by the entire theater community of Drama League members, including award-winning actors, designers, directors, playwrights, producers, industry veterans, critics, and dedicated audiences from across the US, who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Awards for the 2021-22 season, presented by actors Patti LuPone, Ben Vereen, Sutton Foster, Shoshana Bean, Gabby Beans, and Lear deBessonet, were bestowed in seven competitive categories, including, for the first time this year, two new directing awards. In addition to the competitive awards winners, the Drama League also recognized the following previously announced honorees:

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater: Hugh Jackman;

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing: Lileana Blain-Cruz;

Contribution to the Theater Award: Billy Crystal;

Gratitude Award: Willette Murphy Klausner.

And the winners in the seven categories of performance, production, and direction are:

Distinguished Performance Award: Sutton Foster, The Music Man;

Outstanding Production of a Play: The Lehman Trilogy, written by Stefano Massini, adapted by Ben Power;

Outstanding Production of a Musical: A Strange Loop, book, music, and lyrics by Michael R. Jackson;

Outstanding Revival of a Play: Take Me Out, written by Richard Greenberg;

Outstanding Revival of a Musical: Company, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by George Furth;

Outstanding Direction of a Play: Kate Whoriskey, Clyde’s;

Outstanding Direction of a Musical: Marianne Elliott, Company.

Congratulations to the winners and honorees.

Previous articleStudio Theatre announces 2022/23 season
Next articleBroadway’s ‘Mr. Saturday Night’ resurrects mid-century Borscht Belt shtick
Deb Miller (PhD, Art History) is the Senior Correspondent and Editor for New York City, where she grew up seeing every show on Broadway. She is an active member of the Outer Critics Circle and served for more than a decade as a Voter, Nominator, and Judge for the Barrymore Awards for Excellence in Theatre. Outside of her home base in NYC, she has written and lectured extensively on the arts and theater throughout the world (including her many years in Amsterdam, London, and Venice, and her extensive work and personal connections with Andy Warhol and his circle) and previously served as a lead writer for Stage Magazine, Phindie, and Central Voice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here