Winners of Broadway’s 2022 Tony Awards

Winners of the 75th Annual Tony Awards, honoring theater professionals of the 2021-2022 season for distinguished achievement on Broadway, were announced Sunday night, June 12, in a live ceremony at Radio City Music Hall, presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. The two-part event was broadcast live on Paramount+ from 7-8 pm, hosted by Darren Criss (American Buffalo) and Julianne Hough (POTUS), and on CBS TV from 8-11 pm, hosted by Tony nominee and Academy Award winner Ariana DeBose (Hamilton; West Side Story).

The show featured performances of songs from eight of this year’s Tony-nominated musicals – The Music ManMJMr. Saturday NightCompanyGirl from the North CountryA Strange Loop, Paradise Square, and SIX. There were also performances by DeBose, Tony Award winners Bernadette Peters and Billy Porter, The New York City Gay Men’s Chorus, and the original cast members of the 2007 Tony-winning musical Spring Awakening, and the annual “In Memoriam” segment commemorating theater artists we’ve lost over the past year, concluding with the legendary Stephen Sondheim.

Presenting the awards was an all-star line-up that included Utkarsh Ambudkar, Skylar Astin, Zach Braff, Danielle Brooks, Danny Burstein, Len Cariou, RuPaul Charles, Jessica Chastain, Lilli Cooper, Bryan Cranston, Wilson Cruz, Colman Domingo, Anthony Edwards, Cynthia Erivo, Raúl Esparza, Laurence Fishburne, Andrew Garfield, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Tony Goldwyn, David Alan Grier, Marcia Gay Harden, Vanessa Hudgens, Jennifer Hudson, Paris Jackson, Prince Jackson, Samuel L. Jackson, Nathan Lane, Telly Leung, Judith Light, Josh Lucas, Gaten Matarazzo, Ruthie Ann Miles, Patina Miller, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Bebe Neuwirth, Kelli O’Hara, Sarah Paulson, Bernadette Peters, Jeremy Pope, Billy Porter, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Chita Rivera, Tony Shalhoub, Phillipa Soo, Sarah Silverman, George Takei, Aaron Tveit, Adrienne Warren, Patrick Wilson, and Bowen Yang.

The winners in 26 competitive categories were determined by 650 designated Tony voters within the theater community. Leading the awards for the 2021-22 season were the epic play The Lehman Trilogy and the revival of the Sondheim musical Company, which received five Tonys each, followed by MJ the Musical with four. Pulitzer Prize winner Michael R. Jackson won Best Book of a Musical for A Strange Loop, which was also recognized as Best Musical of the year.

And the winners are:

Best Play: The Lehman Trilogy; 

Best Musical: A Strange Loop;

Best Book of a Musical: A Strange Loop, Michael R. Jackson;

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics Written for the Theatre): SIX, music and lyrics by Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss;

Best Revival of a Play: Take Me Out;

Best Revival of a Musical: Company;

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play: Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy;

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play: Deirdre O’Connell, Dana H.;

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical: Myles Frost, MJ the Musical;

Myles Frost in MJ. Photo by Matthew Murphy.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical: Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square;

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play: Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out;

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play: Phylicia Rashad, Skeleton Crew;

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical: Matt Doyle, Company;

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical: Patti LuPone, Company;

Best Scenic Design of a Play: Es Devlin, The Lehman Trilogy;

Best Scenic Design of a Musical: Bunny Christie, Company;

Katrina Lenk (center) and the cast of Company. Photo by Matthew Murphy.

Best Costume Design of a Play: Montana Levi Blanco, The Skin of Our Teeth;

Best Costume Design of a Musical: Gabriella Slade, SIX;

Best Lighting Design of a Play: Jon Clark, The Lehman Trilogy;

Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Natasha Katz, MJ;

Best Sound Design of a Play: Mikhail Fiksel, Dana H.;

Best Sound Design of a Musical: Gareth Owen, MJ;

Best Direction of a Play: Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy;

Best Direction of a Musical: Lucy Marianne Elliott, Company;

Best Choreography: Christopher Wheeldon, MJ;

Best Orchestrations: Simon Hale, Girl from the North Country;

In addition to the competitive categories, awards were presented to the following previously announced special honorees:

Angela Lansbury. Photo courtesy of the Tony Awards.

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre: Angela Lansbury;

Special Tony Award: James C. Nicola, Artistic Director of New York Theatre Workshop since 1988;

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award: Robert E. Wankel, President and Co-CEO of the Shubert Organization;

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre: Asian American Performers Action Coalition (AAPAC); Broadway For All; music copyist Emily Grishman; Feinstein’s/54 Below; and United Scenic Artists, Local USA 829, IATSE.

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to the entire Broadway community for bringing live theater back to NYC!

15 Questions in 15 Minutes with Broadway’s ‘MJ the Musical’ star Myles Frost (interview by Deb Miller)


  1. Love this list! One thing that would be great to amplify here is that we have a Maryland native and Bowie State University student who just won the Tony for Best Performance by an Actor in a Musical – Myles Frost, student in BSU’s Department of Fine and Performing Arts. Saw the 15 in 15 article done previously with Myles, but now he’s moved from nominee to winner. This is an incredible honor for this young artist and for our community.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here