Winners of the 2023 Theatre World Awards for Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances

The Board of Directors of the Theatre World Awards – first presented in 1945, and the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances – has announced its 77th Annual Awards winners. The honorees for the 2022-23 season were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee, comprised of Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News), David Cote (The Observer), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Theatre Guide), Peter Filichia (Broadway Radio), David Finkle (New York Stage Review), Elysa Gardner (The New York Sun), Harry Haun (, Cary Wong (The Interested Bystander), and Frank Scheck (New York Stage Review; The Hollywood Reporter).

Also announced were recipients of the 14th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater – honoring an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production, as chosen by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation, together with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards Committee – and two 2023 Special Award Honorees for Outstanding Swing and Outstanding Contribution to The Theatre World.

Still to be announced is the winner of the 10th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, presented annually by the TWA Board of Directors to an individual whose lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the theater community merit special recognition and acknowledgement. The eponymous award is given in honor of the late Editor-in-Chief of Theatre World, who created and maintained the tradition of encouraging new talent in an often-challenging business for 66 years.

John Willis. Photo courtesy of Theatre World Awards.

The 77th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony – a private invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World family – will be held Monday evening, June 5, 2023, beginning at 7 pm, at a venue TBA. Hosted annually by theater journalist Peter Filichia, the event will be directed by Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora, with Michael Lavine serving as Musical Director.

And the honorees for the 2022-23 theatrical season are:

Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance: Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Topdog/Underdog; Hiran Abeysekera, Life of Pi; Amir Arison, The Kite Runner; D’Arcy Carden, The Thanksgiving Play; Jodie Comer, Prima Facie; Callum Francis, Kinky Boots; Lucy Freyer, The Wanderers; Caroline Innerbichler, Shucked; Ashley D. Kelley, Shucked; Casey Likes, Almost Famous; Emma Pfitzer Price, Becomes A Woman;  and John David Washington, The Piano Lesson;

14th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in The Theater: Julie Benko, Funny Girl;

2023 Special Award Honorees:

Outstanding Swing:  Marilyn Caserta (Six);

Outstanding Contribution to The Theatre World:  Dale Badway (Actor, Producer, and President of the Theatre World Awards Board of Directors).

Sending our congratulations to all of the honorees and best wishes for a long career of ongoing achievements in the theater!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here