Recipients of the New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards for 2023

Founded in 1935 at the Algonquin Hotel by a group that included Brooks Atkinson, Walter Winchell, and Robert Benchley, the New York Drama Critics’ Circle is made up of 20 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services, and websites based in the NYC metropolitan area. At the end of each theater season since 1936,  members (currently comprised of President Adam Feldman, Vice President Joe Dziemianowicz, Treasurer Zachary Stewart, David Barbour, David Cote, Vinson Cunningham, Greg Evans, David Finkle, Elysa Gardner, Robert Hofler, Charles Isherwood, Chris Jones, Soraya Nadia McDonald, Johnny Oleksinski, Frank Scheck, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Marilyn Stasio, Elisabeth Vincentelli, and Matt Windman) vote on the annual New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards, the second oldest theater award in the US, after the Pulitzer Prize.

The main award is given for Best Play, which includes a cash prize of $2,500, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and will be presented during a private ceremony on Tuesday, May 22. A cash award of $1,000, also funded by a grant from the Lortel Foundation, is given to the playwright who receives the award for Best American or Foreign Play. Since 1945, the organization has also given out awards for Best Musical and Special Citations may be awarded for actors, companies, or work of special merit.

This year’s New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award winners are:

Best Play: Downstate by Bruce Norris, directed by Pam McKinnon, New York premiere at Off-Broadway’s Playwrights Horizons, November 15, 2022-January 7, 2023;

Best Foreign Play: Leopoldstadt by Tom Stoppard, directed by Patrick Marber, American premiere October 2, 2023, at Broadway’s Longacre Theatre, where it’s still playing;

Best Musical: No award;

Special Citations: The Broadway revival of Parade; playwright Adrienne Kennedy for lifetime achievement; and to La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club for ongoing achievement in Off-Off Broadway theater.

Congratulations to the winners!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here