Winners of NYC’s 67th Annual Obie Awards for 2022-23

The American Theatre Wing and Spectrum News NY1’s “On Stage,” hosted by Emmy Award winner Frank DiLella, today announced the winners of the 67th Obie Awards, with Obie winner Kara Young, recognizing the outstanding contributions made throughout the 2022-2023 theater season in NYC, for eligible shows that opened between September 1, 2022-August 31, 2023, at an Off- or Off-Off-Broadway theater and/or company.

On the Obie Judges Committee for 2022-23, co-chaired by Obie-winning director David Mendizábal and veteran theater critic Melissa Rose Bernardo, were Obie-winning and Tony Award-nominated costume designer Dede Ayite; acclaimed scenic designer Wilson Chin; writer and Grammy Award winner Ty Defoe; Broadway’s first Black intimacy coordinator and Obie Award winner Ann C. James; Obie Award-winning playwright Haruna Lee; actor, writer, and performance artist Florencia Lozano; and Obie Award-winning performance artist Carmelita Tropicana. The judges evaluated over 300 productions, engaged in discussions, and voted for the recipients.

The Village Voice created The Obie Awards soon after the publication’s inception in 1955, to encourage the newly burgeoning Off-Broadway theater movement and to acknowledge its achievements. The Obies are structured with informal categories to recognize artists and productions worthy of distinction in each theatrical year.

The winners of the 67th Obie Awards are:

BEST NEW AMERICAN PLAY – Ryan J. Haddad, Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr/The Public Theater)

PLAYWRITING – Hansol Jung, Wolf Play (MCC Theater/Soho Rep/ Ma-Yi Theater Company); Bruce Norris, Downstate (Playwrights Horizons/Steppenwolf Theatre Company/National Theatre)

DIRECTION – Dustin Wills, Montag (Soho Rep), Wet Brain (Playwrights Horizons and MCC Theater), and Wolf Play (MCC Theater/Soho Rep/Ma-Yi Theater Company); Shayok Misha Chowdhury, Public Obscenities (Soho Rep/National Asian American Theatre Company); Faye Driscoll, Weathering (New York Live Arts)

SUSTAINED ACHIEVEMENT IN DIRECTING – Eric Ting, The Far Country (Atlantic Theater Company) and The Comeuppance (Signature Theatre Company); Pam MacKinnon, Downstate (Playwrights Horizons/Steppenwolf Theatre Company/National Theatre)

PERFORMANCE – William Jackson Harper, Primary Trust (Roundabout Theatre Company); Marla Mindelle, Titanique (Eva Price); Zuleyma Guevara, Sancocho (The Sol Project/Latinx Playwrights Circle/WP Theater); Maryann Plunkett, Deep Blue Sound (Clubbed Thumb)

William Jackson Harper (center) with Jay O. Sanders and Eric Berryman in Primary Trust. Photo by Joan Marcus.

SUSTAINED ACHIEVEMENT IN PERFORMANCE – Shannon Tyo, The Comeuppance (Signature Theatre Company), The Far Country (Atlantic Theater Company), and Regretfully, So The Birds Are (Playwrights Horizons | WP Theater); John Douglas Thompson, Endgame (Irish Repertory Theatre) and Hamlet (The Public Theater);Todd Freeman, Downstate (Playwrights Horizons)

DESIGN – Enver Chakartash (Costumes), Public Obscenities (Soho Rep/National Asian American Theatre Company), Toros (Second Stage Theater), The Trees (Playwrights Horizons/Page 73), Wolf Play (MCC Theater/Soho Rep/Ma-Yi Theater Company), Catch As Catch Can (Playwrights Horizons), and I’m Revolting (Atlantic Theater Company); Barbara Samuels (Lights), Public Obscenities (Soho Rep/National Asian American Theatre Company), Wolf Play (MCC Theater/Soho Rep/Ma-Yi Theater Company), Becky Nurse of Salem (Lincoln Center Theater), and Toros (Second Stage Theater)

SUSTAINED ACHIEVEMENT IN DESIGN – dots (Sets) Collective – Santiago Orjuela-Laverde, Andrew Moerdyk, and Kimie Nishikawa, Public Obscenities (Soho Rep/National Asian American Theatre Company), Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr/The Public Theater), Events (The Hearth Theater Company), Infinite Life (Atlantic Theater Company), Deep Blue Sound (Clubbed Thumb), and Grief Hotel (Clubbed Thumb); Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound), The Half God of Rainfall (New York Theatre Workshop), Primary Trust (Roundabout Theatre), Des Moines (Theatre For A New Audience), Evanston Salt Costs Climbing (The New Group)

Dickie Hearts and Ryan J. Haddad in Dark Disabled Stories. Photo by Joan Marcus.

SPECIAL CITATIONS – Ensemble of Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr/The Public Theater) – Ryan J. Haddad, Dickie Hearts, and Alejandra Ospina; Design Team of Wet Brain (Playwrights Horizon/MCC Theater) – Kate Noll (Set), Cha See (Lights), Haydee Zelideth Antuñano (Costumes), Tei Blow (Co-Sound), John Gasper (Co-Sound), and Nick Hussong (Projections); Ensemble of The Comeuppance (Signature Theatre Company) – Brittany Bradford, Caleb Eberhardt, Susannah Flood, Bobby Moreno, and Shannon Tyo; Liza Birkenmeier (Writer) and Tara Ahmadinejad (Director) of Grief Hotel (Clubbed Thumb); Lead Actors of Montag (Soho Rep) – Ariana Venturi and Nadine Malouf; Intimacy Coordinators of Color and Ann C. James (Founder and Mentor)

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT – Peggy Shaw and Lois Weaver (writing and performing duo of Split Britches); Carole Rothman (Co-Founder and Artistic Director of Second Stage)

THEATRE GRANTS – Breaking the Binary Theatre Company; Dominican Artists Collective (DAC); The Brick

ROSS WETZSTEON AWARD – Under the Radar Festival (Mark Russell as Founder)

MICHAEL FEINGOLD AWARD – Andrew Morrill for their work as Director of Artistic Sign Language and Alison Kopit for Access Dramaturgy of Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr /The Public Theater).

In lieu of the annual awards ceremony, the American Theatre Wing will instead dedicate funds to the support and growth of the artists, by bestowing winners with grants ranging from $1,000-5,000.

The full list of winners, as well as their recorded acceptance speeches, is now available on the Obie Awards website. The broadcast program will re-air on Sunday, January 28, at 7:30 and 10:30 pm, on Spectrum News NY1, available to Spectrum subscribers on channel 1 and via the Spectrum News App for mobile, Xumo Stream Box, Roku, and Apple TV streaming devices.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here