Nominations for the 2024 Chita Rivera Awards for dance and choreography on Broadway and in film

This afternoon (Monday, April 29) at 1:50, on ABC TV’s GMA3: What You Need to Know, Tony Award winner and dancer Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago), now starring in the Broadway revival of Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club, announced the nominations in Broadway and Film for the 2024 Chita Rivera Awards – a program of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation (founded by Executive Director Joe Lanteri in 2010), named for one of the greatest dance icons of the American musical theater (who died in NYC following a brief illness on January 30, 2024, at the age of 91) and the only awards ceremony dedicated to dance and choreographic excellence.

Chita Rivera. Photo courtesy of the Chita Rivera Awards.

As was previously announced, multi-award-winning actress Bernadette Peters will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, to be presented by Tony, Oscar, and Golden Globe Award winner Joel Grey at the 2024 Chita Rivera Awards ceremony, which will be held on Monday, May 20, beginning at 7:30 pm, at the NYU Skirball Center. All proceeds of the Chita Rivera Awards benefit the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation Scholarship Program, which awards college scholarships to talented teenagers. This year, all funding and proceeds will support the creation of a new Chita Rivera Training Scholarship.

Awards nominations were determined by the designated nominating committees for Broadway and Film. There is also an awarding committee for Broadway, which determines recipients that are received from the Broadway nominations committee. The Awarding Committee members are Sylviane Gold (Chair), Gary Chryst, Robert LaFosse, Donna McKechnie, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, and Desmond Richardson. Serving on the Broadway Nominating Committee are Wendy Federman (Chair), Melinda Atwood, Caitlin Carter, Gary Chryst, Don Correia, Jamie deRoy, Sandy Duncan, Peter Filichia, Dr. Louis Galli, Sylviane Gold, Jonathan Herzog, Jim Kierstead, Robert La Fosse, Joe Lanteri, Donna McKechnie, Michael Milton, Mary Beth O’Connor, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Desmond Richardson, Andy Sandberg, and Randy Skinner. The Film Nominating Committee is comprised of Jonathan C. Herzog (Chair), Steven Caras, Wilhelmina Frankfurt, Mary Beth O’Connor, and Andy Sandberg.

The 2024 Chita Rivera Awards nominations for Broadway and film are:


OUTSTANDING CHOREOGRAPHY IN A BROADWAY SHOW: Camille A Brown, Hell’s Kitchen; Julia Cheng, Cabaret; Rick and Jeff Kuperman, The Outsiders; Lorin Latarro, The Heart of Rock and Roll and The Who’s Tommy; Justin Peck, Illinoise; Jesse Robb and Shana Carroll, Water for Elephants

OUTSTANDING DANCER IN A BROADWAY SHOW: Antoine Boissereau, Water for Elephants; Ben Cook, Illinoise; Chloe Davis, Hell’s Kitchen; Gaby Diaz, Illinoise; Tilly Evans-Kreuger, The Outsiders; Rachel Lockhart, Illinoise; Phillip Johnson Richardson, The Wiz; Byron Tittle, Illinoise; Ricky Ubeda, Illinoise; Avery Wilson, The Wiz

OUTSTANDING ENSEMBLE IN A BROADWAY SHOW: Cabaret; Hell’s Kitchen; Illinoise; The Heart of Rock and Roll; The Outsiders; Water for Elephants


OUTSTANDING CHOREOGRAPHY IN A THEATRICAL RELEASE: Barbie, Jennifer White; Carmen, Benjamin Millepied and Marina Tamayo; Color Purple, Fatima Robinson; Mean Girls, Kyle Hanagami and Casey Nicholaw; Wonka, Christopher Gattelli

OUTSTANDING DIRECTION OF A DANCE DOCUMENTARY: Daughters, Angela Patton and Natalie Rae; Eldorado: Everything the Nazi’s Hate, Benjamin Cantu and Matt Lambert; Lift, David Petersen; Studio One Forever, Marc Saltarelli; Swan Song, Chelsea McMullan.

Congratulations to all the nominees for the recognition of their contributions to dance and choreography.

The Chita Rivera Awards will be presented on Monday, May 20, 2024, at 7:30 pm, at the NYU Skirball Center, 566 Laguardia Place, NYC. For tickets (priced at $125-750, plus fees), go online.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here