Winners of the 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards for Off-Broadway

Winners of the 39th annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were announced tonight, Sunday, May 5, beginning at 7:00, by hosts and presenters Rosalind Chao, Jenn Colella, Kamilah Forbes, Nikki M. James, Anne Kauffman, Phylicia Rashad, and BD Wong in a ceremony at NYU Skirball. As was previously announced, in addition to the competitive awards in sixteen categories, special recognitions were given this year to Ruben Santiago-Hudson for Lifetime Achievement and Ars Nova for Outstanding Body of Work, and Dominique Morisseau was honored with a star in the Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the theater on Christopher Street.

The Playwrights’ Sidewalk, Lucille Lortel Theatre. Photo courtesy of the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

As always, the Lucille Lortel Awards, produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF, was held as a benefit for the non-profit Entertainment Community Fund (formerly the Actors Fund), to which fans are encouraged to make a tax-deductible donation.

For the 2023-24 season, there were 75 eligible Off-Broadway productions, 39 of which earned at least one Lortel Award nomination, and ten of which received awards, led by (pray) with three, followed by Buena Vista Social Club, Stereophonic, The Comeuppance, and Wet Brain, with two each. Serving on the Voting Committee to determine the recipients were representatives from the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, United Scenic Artists, the Lucille Lortel Theatre, along with theater journalists, academics, and other Off-Broadway professionals.

And the winners of the 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards are:

Outstanding Play: The Comeuppance, produced by Signature Theatre, written by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins;

Outstanding Musical: (pray), produced by Ars Nova and National Black Theatre, created by nicHi douglas, with music by S T A R R Busby and JJJJJerome Ellis;

Outstanding Revival: Translations, produced by Irish Repertory Theatre, written by Brian Friel;

Outstanding Solo Show: All The Devils Are Here – How Shakespeare Invented the Villain, written and performed by Patrick Page;

Outstanding Director: nicHi douglas, (pray);

Outstanding Choreographer: Patricia Delgado, Buena Vista Social Club;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play: Gabby Beans, Jonah;

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play: Eli Gelb, Stereophonic;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical: Natalie Venetia Belcon, Buena Vista Social Club;

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical: Kecia Lewis, Hell’s Kitchen;

Outstanding Ensemble: (pray) – Ariel Kayla Blackwood, S T A R R Busby, Ashely De La Rosa, Tina Fabrique, Satori Folkes-Stone, Amara Granderson, Taylor Symone Jackson, Ziiomi Louise Law, Aigner Mizzelle, Gayle Turner, Darnell White, D. Woods;

Outstanding Scenic Design: Kate Noll, Wet Brain;

Outstanding Costume Design: Lux Haac, Manahatta;

Outstanding Lighting Design: Amith Chandrashaker, The Comeuppance;

Outstanding Sound Design: Ryan Rumery, Stereophonic;

Outstanding Projection Design: Nick Hussong, Wet Brain.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Ruben Santiago-Hudson;

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee: Dominique Morisseau;

Outstanding Body of Work: Ars Nova.

Congratulations to all the winners and honorees!

The 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards were presented on Sunday, May 5, 2024, beginning at 7 pm, at NYU Skirball, 566 LaGuardia Place, NYC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here