Nominations for the 2024 Off Broadway Alliance Awards

Nominations for the 13th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards, honoring commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off-Broadway during the 2023-2024 season, were announced today. In addition to the six competitive categories (Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Revival, Best Unique Theatrical Experience, Best Solo Performance, and Best Family Show), the OBA – an organization of Off-Broadway producers, theaters, general managers, press agents, and marketing professionals – has announced its honorees for three special awards.

Legend of Off-Broadway Awards will be presented to actors Marylouise Burke and Len Cariou, and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks for their extraordinary contributions over many years. Playwright/performer Christopher Durang, writer Michael Feingold, and producer Edgar Lansbury will be posthumously inducted into the Off-Broadway Hall of Fame, and The Friend of Off-Broadway Award will be presented to Adam Feldman, National Theater and Dance Editor and Chief Theater Critic at Time Out New York.

The full list of 2023-24 Off Broadway Alliance Awards nominations and honorees is:

BEST NEW MUSICAL: Buena Vista Social Club; Dead Outlaw; Lizard Boy; The Connector; The Gardens of Anuncia

BEST NEW PLAY: Dracula: A Comedy of Terrors; Infinite Life; Job; Oh, Mary!; Stereophonic

BEST REVIVAL: I Can Get It for You Wholesale; Pericles; The Habit of Art; Translations; Tuesdays with Morrie

BEST SOLO PERFORMANCE: Patrick Page in All the Devils Are Here; Rachel Bloom in Death, Let Me Do My Show; John Rubinstein in Eisenhower: This Piece of Ground; Jes Tom in Less Lonely; Wade McCollum in Make Me Gorgeous!

BEST UNIQUE THEATRICAL EXPERIENCE: Dungeons & Dragons The Twenty-Sided Tavern; Grenfell: in the words of survivors; Mind Mangler: A Night of Tragic Illusion; Stalker; The Life and Slimes of Marc Summers

BEST FAMILY SHOW: Cat Kid Comic Club; El Otro Oz; Pinocchio

LEGEND OF OFF-BROADWAY AWARD: Marylouise Burke; Len Cariou; Suzan-Lori Parks

OFF-BROADWAY HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES: Christopher Durang; Michael Feingold; Edgar Lansbury


Congratulations to all the nominees and honorees! Winners will be announced on Thursday, May 30, and the awards ceremony will be held on Tuesday, June 18, starting at 2 pm, at Sardi’s.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here