Winners of the 2024 New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle today named David Adjmi’s Stereophonic Best Play of the 2023-24 season and the award for Best Musical went to Dead Outlaw, with a book by Itamar Moses and music and lyrics by David Yazbek and Erik Della Penna. The selections were made at the organization’s 88th annual voting meeting.

In addition to the two annual awards, a joint Special Citation was awarded to the revivals of Merrily We Roll Along and Purlie Victorious. A joint Special Citation for Lifetime Achievement was also awarded to actors Maryann Plunkett (The Notebook; Deep Blue Sound) and Jay O. Sanders (Primary Trust; Purlie Victorious), and a third Special Citation was awarded to writer-composer Heather Christian, whose Terce: A Practical Breviary premiered this season.

The awards, which will be presented during a private ceremony on Tuesday, May 21, include a cash prize of $2,500 for Best Play, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

Founded in 1935, the New York Drama Critics’ Circle comprises 21 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services, and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. The New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award – the nation’s second-oldest playwriting award after the Pulitzer Prize for Drama – has been presented every year since 1936 to the best new play of the season (with optional awards for foreign or American plays, musicals, and special achievements).

Adam Feldman, theater critic and editor for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005. Joe Dziemianowicz serves as vice president and Zachary Stewart as treasurer. In addition to Feldman, Dziemianowicz, and Stewart, the members of the New York Drama Critics’ Circle are David Barbour, David Cote, Vinson Cunningham, Greg Evans, David Finkle, Elysa Gardner, Robert Hofler, Sara Holdren, Charles Isherwood, Chris Jones, Soraya Nadia McDonald, Jackson McHenry, Johnny Oleksinski, Frank Scheck, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Elisabeth Vincentelli, and Matt Windman. Emeritus members include Melissa Rose Bernardo, Christopher Kelly, Brian Scott Lipton, David Rooney, Michael Sommers, Marilyn Stasio, Steven Suskin, and Linda Winer.

For a full breakdown of this year’s voting, visit the organization’s website.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here