Honorees of the 2024 Theatre World Awards for Broadway and Off-Broadway

On Tuesday, May 14, the 2024 honorees were announced for the 78th annual Theatre World Awards for Outstanding Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production, the 15th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, the 11th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, and a 2024 TWA Special Award.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, the Editor-in-Chief of both Theatre World and Screen World, are the oldest awards given annually at the end of the Broadway and Off-Broadway theater season to honor twelve debut performances. The honorees are selected by the Theatre World Awards Committee, comprised of Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News), David Cote (The Observer), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Theatre Guide), Peter Filichia (Broadway Radio), David Finkle (New York Stage Review), Elysa Gardner (The New York Sun), Harry Haun (Observer.com), Cary Wong (The Interested Bystander), and Frank Scheck (New York Stage Review; The Hollywood Reporter).

The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, chosen by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation, together with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards Committee, honors an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. Named for American actress and singer Dorothy Loudon, who was presented a Theatre World Award for her 1962 Broadway debut in Nowhere to Go but Up, went on to earn a Tony for her 1977 performance as Miss Hannigan in Annie, and to originate roles in Noises Off, The West Side Waltz, and Michael Bennett’s Ballroom.

The John Willis Award, presented in honor of the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years, is given annually by the TWA Board of Directors to an individual whose lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the theater community merit special recognition and acknowledgement.

And the 2024 Theatre World Award Honorees are:

Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance – Ali Louis Bourzgui, The Who’s Tommy; Cole Escola, Oh, Mary!; Brody Grant, The Outsiders; Michael Imperioli, Enemy of the People; Phillip Johnson Richardson, The Wiz; Will Keen, Patriots; Nichelle Lewis, The Wiz; Rachel McAdams, Mary Jane; Maleah Joi Moon, Hell’s Kitchen; Tom Pecinka, Stereophonic; Sarah Pidgeon, Stereophonic; Chris Stack, Stereophonic

A.J. Shively and David McElwee in Philadelphia, Here I Come! at Irish Repertory Theatre. Photo by Jeremy Daniel.

15th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in The Theater – A.J. Shively, Philadephia, Here I Come!

11th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre – Len Cariou

2024 Special Award Honoree – Peter Filichia.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees!

The 78th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, June 10, 2024, beginning at 8:08 pm, on the set of the Broadway revival of The Wiz at the Marquis Theatre, 1535 Broadway, NYC. Hosted annually by theater journalist Peter Filichia, the twelve previous winners serve as the presenters, sharing their stories and memorable moments from past years to showcase the organization’s heritage. The ceremony is a private invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here