Winners of the 2024 Drama Desk Awards for Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway

In a star-studded ceremony at NYU Skirball Center beginning at 6:15 tonight (Monday, June 10) and co-hosted by Sutton Foster and Aaron Tveit, winners of the 68th annual Drama Desk Awards – the only major NYC theater awards for which Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway productions are considered in the same categories – were announced for the 2023-24 season, with two recipients in each of the gender-free performance categories. Along with the competitive awards, seven previously announced Special Awards were also presented, including the inaugural William Wolf Award, commemorating the late entertainment journalist, theater and film critic, and educator, who was a longtime President of the Drama Desk and passed away on March 28, 2020, after contracting COVID-19.

Co-hosts Aaron Tveit and Sutton Foster. Art by Justin “Squigs” Robertson.

Among the luminary roster of presenters were Shoshana Bean (Hell’s Kitchen), Laura Benanti (My Fair Lady), Corbin Bleu (Little Shop of Horrors), Matthew Broderick (The Producers), Montego Glover (Into the Woods), Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Sarah Hyland (TV’s Modern Family), James Monroe Iglehart (A Wonderful World: The Louis Armstrong Musical), Brian d’Arcy James (Days of Wine and Roses), Nikki M. James (Suffs), James Lapine (Sunday in the Park with George), Debra Messing (TV’s Will and Grace), Ruthie Ann Miles (Sweeney Todd), Steven Pasquale (Teeth), Andrew Rannells (Gutenberg! The Musical), Seth Rudetsky (Disaster!), Brooke Shields (The Addams Family), and Miriam Silverman (The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window). The event also featured performances by Sutton and Tveit, James, and a special musical tribute by Kelli O’Hara to honor Lincoln Center’s André Bishop.

Leading the awards this year were Stereophonic with six wins, plus a Special Ensemble Award for a total of seven, followed by Water for Elephants with four. Productions deemed not eligible, either because they were considered in their entirety in prior seasons or because they did not invite awards consideration in the current season, included Danny and the Deep Blue Sea, Here We Are, Merrily We Roll Along, The Animal Kingdom, The White Chip, and Walk on Through: Confessions of a Museum Novice.

And the winners of the 2024 Drama Desk Awards are:

Outstanding Play: Stereophonic 

Outstanding Musical: Dead Outlaw

Outstanding Revival of a Play: Appropriate

Outstanding Revival of a Musical: I Can Get It for You Wholesale

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Play: Jessica Lange, Mother Play; Sarah Paulson, Appropriate

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical: TIE – Brian d’Arcy James, Days of Wine and Roses; Maleah Joi Moon, Hell’s Kitchen; Kelli O’Hara, Days of Wine and Roses

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Play: Celia Keenan-Bolger, Mother Play; Kara Young, Purlie Victorious: A Non-Confederate Romp Through the Cotton Patch

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Musical: Kecia Lewis, Hell’s Kitchen; Bebe Neuwirth, Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

Outstanding Direction of a Play: Daniel Aukin, Stereophonic

Outstanding Direction of a Musical: Jessica Stone, Water for Elephants

Outstanding Choreography: Justin Peck, Illinoise

Outstanding Music: Shaina Taub, Suffs

Outstanding Lyrics: David Yazbek and Erik Della Penna, Dead Outlaw

Outstanding Book of a Musical: Itamar Moses, Dead Outlaw

Outstanding Orchestrations: Marco Paguia, Buena Vista Social Club

Outstanding Music in a Play: Will Butler, Stereophonic

Outstanding Revue: Amid Falling Walls, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene

Outstanding Scenic Design of a Play: David Zinn, Stereophonic

Outstanding Scenic Design of a Musical: Paul Tate dePoo III, The Great Gatsby (includes projections)

Outstanding Costume Design of a Play: Enver Chakartash, Stereophonic

Outstanding Costume Design of a Musical: Paul Tazewell, Suffs

Outstanding Lighting Design of a Play: Jane Cox, Appropriate

Outstanding Lighting Design of a Musical: Brian MacDevitt and Hana S. Kim (projections), The Outsiders

Outstanding Projection and Video Design: Peter Nigrini, Hell’s Kitchen

Outstanding Sound Design of a Play: Ryan Rumery, Stereophonic

Outstanding Sound Design of a Musical: TIE – Nick Lidster for Autograph, Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club; Cody Spencer, The Outsiders; Walter Trarbach, Water for Elephants

Outstanding Wig and Hair: Nikiya Mathis, Jaja’s African Hair Braiding

Outstanding Solo Performance: Patrick Page, All the Devils Are Here

Unique Theatrical Experience: Grenfell: in the words of survivors, St. Ann’s Warehouse, National Theatre, and KPPL Productions

Outstanding Fight Choreography: Cha Ramos, Water for Elephants

Outstanding Adaptation: An Enemy of the People, by Amy Herzog

Outstanding Puppetry: Ray Wetmore, JR Goodman, and Camille Labarre, Water for Elephants


Ensemble Award: The cast of Stereophonic – Will Brill, Andrew R. Butler, Juliana Canfield, Eli Gelb, Tom Pecinka, Sarah Pidgeon, and Chris Stack

Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award: Cole Escola, who both wrote and starred in Oh, Mary! 

William Wolf Award: André Bishop, Producing Artistic Director, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, for achievement, high standards, and innovation, and generosity in giving back to the entertainment community

Harold S. Prince Award for Lifetime Achievement: Nathan Lane


How to Dance in Ohio Authentic Autistic Representation Team – Sammi Cannold, Nicole D’Angelo, Becky Leifman, Ava Xiao-Lin Rigelhaupt, Liz Weber, and Jeremy Wein

Isabella Byrd, lighting designer for this season’s An Enemy of the People and Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club on Broadway and Off-Broadway’s Primary Trust and Infinite Life

Lady Irene Gandy, for career achievement as a press agent, Broadway producer, and Sardi’s honoree. 

Congratulations to all the winners!

The 68th annual Drama Desk Awards were presented on Monday, June 10, 2024, at NYU’s Skirball Center for the Performing Arts, 556 LaGuardia Place, NYC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here