Winners of Off-Broadway’s 2022 Lucille Lortel Awards

In a return to a live in-person ceremony for the first time in three years, winners were announced tonight (Sunday, May 1) for the 37th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. The event was hosted at the NYU Skirball Center by three pairs of stars from the stage and screen: Jared Grimes (Broadway’s Funny Girl) and Jeff Hiller (HBO’s Somebody Somewhere); Krysta Rodriguez and Jelani Alladin (Hercules); and Jennifer Simard and Christopher Sieber (Company).

Produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF, the 2022 Awards, presented in sixteen categories, were the first to feature an award for Outstanding Ensemble and for non-gender specific performance categories. Garnering the most awards, with three each, were Kimberly Akimbo and Oratorio for Living Things. This year’s ceremony, as previously announced, also recognized special honorees Deirdre O’Connell with a Lifetime Achievement Award and David Henry Hwang as the latest Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee.

And the winners are:

Outstanding Play: English, written by Sanaz Toossi, produced by Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theatre Company;

Outstanding Musical: Kimberly Akimbo, book and lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, music by Jeanine Tesori, based on the play by David Lindsay-Abaire, produced by Atlantic Theater Company;

Victoria Clark, Justin Cooley, Nina White, Fernell Hogan II, Bonnie Milligan, Olivia Elease Hardy, and Michael Iskander in Kimberly Akimbo. Photo by Ahron R. Foster.

Outstanding Revival: TWILIGHT: LOS ANGELES, 1992, written by Anna Deavere Smith, produced by Signature Theatre;

Outstanding Solo Show: Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, written and performed by Kristina Wong, produced by New York Theatre Workshop;

Outstanding Director: Lee Sunday Evans, Oratorio for Living Things;

Outstanding Choreographer: Bill T. Jones, Black No More;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play: Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady;

Shannon Tyo in The Chinese Lady. Photo by Joan Marcus.

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play: Francis Benhamou, Prayer for the French Republic;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical: Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo;

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical: Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo;

Outstanding Ensemble: Oratorio for Living Things, Johnny Butler, Kirstyn Cae Ballard, Jane Cardona, Sean Donovan, Carla Duren, Clérida Eltimé, Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Brian Flores, Odetta Hartman, Quentin Oliver Lee, Angel Lozada, Divya Maus, Barrie Lobo McLain, Ben Moss, John Murchison, Onyie Nwachukwu, Dito Van Reigersberg, Peter Wise;

The company of Oratorio for Living Things. Photo by Ben Arons.

Outstanding Scenic Design: Adam Rigg, On Sugarland;

Outstanding Costume Design: Gregory Gale, Fairycakes;

Outstanding Lighting Design: Isabella Byrd, Sanctuary City;

Outstanding Sound Design: Nick Kourtides, Oratorio for Living Things;

Outstanding Projection Design: Shawn Duan, Letters of Suresh;

Lifetime Achievement: Deirdre O’Connell;

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee: David Henry Hwang.

Congratulations to the winners and honorees, and thanks to all for their outstanding contributions to Off-Broadway theater.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here